Saturday, 31 January 2009

Annoyed!

So annoyed today! I need to see a boat-load of films at the cinema in the next few weeks, I was planning to get the bus into Stevenage and see two a day (this is actually a heavenly idea for me) but the buses are complete shit so I can't do it. I need to see:

-Milk
-Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist
-Revolutionary Road
-The Reader
-Rachel Getting Married

I am actually politically obligated to see Milk at least once. I think I might go into London for the day and try and see one, at least then I'd be able to get home eventually. Plus going into London always cheers me up.

Happy last day of January everyone. I hope the rest of the year is an upward curve of awesomeness.

Friday, 30 January 2009

BINGO!

Photobucket

I got this from the English Arts Council jobs mailing list. I'm pretty sure this breaks a few employment laws. And I wanted to be a dry and laconic bingo caller! Turns out I'm not attractive, well-dressed or female enough.

Thursday, 29 January 2009

offcuts



here are a few outtakes and bits and pieces that didn't make it into my recent vlogs

Tuesday, 27 January 2009





so one of my gay new blogs has posted this advert that is apparently running in the UK. They're really happy about it all, saying that we should all rush to buy Pepsi products and how gay-friendly it is blah blah blah. But this is my blog so it's my opinion. This is a stupid and offensive advert. I don't care if you're all rolling your eyes. I don't really feel like getting into a debate about this. It objectifies women, but hey, it's so gay[MALE] friendly! Don't really appreciate the "hilarious" facial expressions on the friend's faces as the man goes over to the other man (and stands about three metres away from him, that's as close as two men are allowed to be on television!):
Photobucket
ON THE RIGHT: a "comic" level of disgust. ON THE LEFT: it's a expression of absolute shock.

This is called the "comedic gay reveal". It happens all of the time. Oh, isn't it fucking hilarious, as it turns out he's one of those homosexuals! I'm so shocked! It's HILARIOUS! And we ALL THOUGHT HE WASN'T, BECAUSE WHY WOULD HE BE? THAT'S NOT A NORMAL STATE FOR A HUMAN BEING, that's why we're laughing, that's why it's funny.

Oh and the whole idea that it takes a fucking soft drink to give you the courage to come out and be gay is incredibly offensive. That is what they're suggesting, judging by his friends' shocked reactions. Hey kids, finding coming out difficult? How about a Pepsi? YEAH! THAT HELPS.


The site that linked me to this have drafted a letter of thanks to pepsi for "finally representing the gay community". Sure, we're being represented, but we're the punchline. Again. We are being mocked and derided again. And just because some small slip of gay representation in an advert doesn't mean they can get away with having long lingering shots of breasts. Fucking bastards.
I'm just angry and probably won't feel like talking about this again as the anger will have passed.

I'm this angry already. Imagine how much more fired up I'll be after I've seen Milk. I should probably issue hard hats to everyone.

Monday, 26 January 2009

pictures of me as a child



Sunday, 25 January 2009

like you guys need any more posts from me, but here we go, I'm writing again.

went out with people on Saturday night, was really great, very unusual to go out on a Saturday night, different people everywhere. It did get a bit too crowded, to be honest, but it was still good. We left early and went back to the Mansfield House to watch Pineapple Express which was much better when viewed with friends. Oh and James Franco. He was on the front cover of The Guardian guide this week, best front cover ever, I'll take a pic and you'll see what I mean.

Watched Happy-Go-Lucky tonight. It was really good. The main character was the most optimistic person ever, she was wonderful, but she always showed a little touch of seriousness very rarely when it was needed, it was a really good performance. I just wish I could be like that instead of being so miserable and serious all the time. I have watched so many new films already this month, it's been great. Shame I won't have any more Christmas/Birthday money to burn through :C But hey, maybe I'll get a job soon. I hope I do. Today I've been thinking about training up to teach English as a foreign language. Those courses are quite expensive though. I'll look into it, I'd like to do that for a while at least. I'm reluctant to do more studying, but really, jobs are not coming up very frequently and I feel like I need to do something else instead of searching on the net every day. Teaching abroad would be really good experience if I wanted to come back and do my PhD. I'm not sure though, so I probably shouldn't be talking about it at all, just in case I wake up tomorrow and think it's a terrible idea. I just feel very old today. Like, I'm twenty-four and I haven't done enough. I haven't had enough adventures at all. The 14-year-old me would be pretty annoyed at me right now, I thought I'd be living in Berlin with a German husband or living in New York with an American husband. Anyway, enough of that. This is going to be an awesome year. Like Virginia Woolf said "something tremendous is about to happen". I'm so pleased I recorded that video. I managed to record something with other people in the house! Plus, I need to re-read a Woolf book, they just always restore me, they're like a giant giant giant bowl of delicious food.

anyway, take care everyone! Hope you all have a good week!

HERE: some pics of the Franco thing in the guide and me with my new 30 Rock calendar with thanks to Adam for buying it from America for me!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

and in conclusion: THE PEOPLE AT THE GUARDIAN WANT JAMES FRANCO TO BE GAY AND SO DO I. It's okay that he's not, it's fantastic that he's so gay-friendly.
I think the final quote is a good one, when famous straight actors play gay&bisexual characters idiot interviewers always ask with a sort of mortified expression: "LIEK, OMG, WHAT WAS IT LIKE KISSING (the other famous actor of the same gender)?" because as we all know, kissing a man is scary and disturbing thing to do when you are also a man. The same for a lady kissing another lady. Dumb bastards. And anyway, it's a SCREEN KISS, IT'S CALLED ACTING! Well I didn't expect to go off on a rant, I apologise!

Photobucket
Here I am with my new calendar! THANK YOU SO MUCH ADAM!

Photobucket
This was my outfit. For that pervy American chap who said he likes men in suits. I am in love with that tie. I've had it for ages, but have only worn it twice. I think I'll just wear it more often, even if I'm just popping down the village shop.

anyway, take care everyone! Hope you all have a good week!

Happy Birthday Virginia Woolf





just thought I'd read some Mrs. Dalloway to mark Virginia Woolf's birthday.

I DID NOT DO THIS

Photobucket

Okay, I did.

Friday, 23 January 2009

Louis Garrel, OH!

printed off my latest version of the new poetry thing I've been working on. I'm quite pleased with it, so far. Don't know whether it's finished or not. Lots of shuffling and editing to do. Anyway, I think I'm going to record it all for my youtube channel. It's going to be a bit crazy though, because I'm desperately post-modern it's got one line poems in and quotes from other poets, so I'm going to have to do some fun editing for it all to make sense. I might even film some other things and add a bit of voice over. Don't know when I'll get all of this done, but I'm saying now (and will restate later) that you guys don't have to watch it. It's just me playing around and performing pieces really helps me with editing and stuff, so don't feel obliged to watch when I do get it all filmed. I think It'll probably stretch over two or three long videos too. I imagine it's pretty embarrassing for you all to watch my youtube escapades as it is, but add in pretentious poetry and it'll probably be insufferable. I'll still make it though, because I want to, I'm just saying, you guys don't have to watch.

So today has been a bit rubbish really. Looking for work is a long and frustrating process, news comes everyday that more people are loosing their jobs, it's difficult to keep on looking really. Thought about going back on jobseeker's allowance, but I'm not sure I can bare it. Then there are things I want to do, but can't because of where I live and the fact I'm too poor and stubborn to learn how to drive.

Really, dreaming about French men has been my wonderful escape for the past few days. Did I mention that I have a giant crush on all French men (as it seems). I watched Les chansons d'amour again last night and ordered it from amazon (I rented it and couldn't face giving it back!) I got good deal, Les chansons d'amour and Dans Paris another film by the same director with the same wonderous Monsieur Louis Garrel. Yes my obsession with him has come to the point where I have to post pictures of the man:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
this shot is from the final scene of the film...let's just say it's a wonderfully gay ending...I love this film so much!



and don't ask me what I'm listening to right now, because it definitely isn't the Chansons d'amour soundtrack...


EDIT: forgot to say that I watched Margot at the Wedding, which was a really odd film. I liked it. The dialogue was very fresh. Nicole Kidman gave quite a strange performance, I liked it. And it had Jack Black in it. If anyone went to see this film hoping to get some Jack Black madcappiness, then they'd be a little disappointed...even though there was some craziness there, it actually worked for the film... it was good to see him do something a little more dramatic. The direction wasn't especially intrusive, nor was the set design or anything else really, which is funny considering Noah Baumbach worked with Wes Anderson, who makes everything deliberate, hugely filmic and custom-built. I liked Margot at the Wedding, it had some good moments, it was mostly driven by the dialogue and odd moments, like Nicole Kidman's character climbing a tree. I own Baumbach's over film The Squid and the Whale which I've only ever seen twice, I think it's a good film but Jeff Daniels's character in that film is too excruciatingly annoying to watch.

Thursday, 22 January 2009

new video: PUPPET SHOW

Tuesday, 20 January 2009

Oh Obama!

Photobucket

THAT'S NOT CREEPY AT ALL, IS IT?! from The Guardian
so had another day of looking for work and feeling overwhelmed with doubt. Watching the inauguration coverage was a wonderful break from obsessing over myself and my problems. Such a great day, it was wonderful to be able to watch it all on the BBC. Then on channel 4. Then I listened to radio four for a bit. Wasn't too happy that they'd brought in a "white rights defender" or racist as I'd call him. He was there to basically say that it's a terrible day for America and that America is "a European country" so should be governed by white people. This guy was from Alabama and didn't seem very European at all. Also he kept on calling Obama a Marxist. The fucking idiot. Thankfully he wasn't in the studio with everyone else, but it was a recorded interview, which took place in a bowling alley. So chances are they edited out the more extreme racists things he had to say, as well as having to edit out the sounds of people celebrating their strikes in the background.

So, one more time for the cheap seats, this is my opinion on this sort of thing. When you happen to be placed within a social majority group which has a bloody history of violence against minority groups, it is NOT OKAY to start up your own civil rights group as soon as the oppressed minority start to begin to have something close to equality. You already have the rights and freedoms that these people are fighting for and them attaining equality IN NO WAY diminishes your own rights and freedoms.

Copy paste this for the stupid bastard who once asked me why straight people don't get their own pride parade.


Anyway, enough of such bitterness! A wonderful thing happened today in America. George W. Bush has left and will never return and we have a new guy, a democrat who is serious and intelligent and seems like he knows what to do and how to do it. I'm very pleased by it all. Something good actually happened.

So inbetween the Obama-mania I have been gripped with today I finally got to see Les Chansons d'amour:




Firstly, I have a giant crush on Louis Garrel. But this film is actually amazing. It's a very interesting musical, the music isn't imposing, it's very naturalistic, the singing is all very natural, unlike most musicals. The songs are great as well. I just loved it. It was so well shot, everything took place at dusk, dawn or during the night so all the scenes were full of black, blue and yellow, very beautiful. I really recommend it, best film I've seen in a while.

Welcome to Yes Eddus

hello there people


This is going to be a public blog which mirrors my private blog over on livejournal. I will be posting most of the stuff I post there, but I'll be keeping a few posts and details away from the eyes of the general internet for various reasons, I hope you understand.

If you'd like to get full eddus coverage, here I am on livejournal: http://loki-fledermaus.livejournal.com/ you have to join the site and then add me.

take care everyone, love to you all


Ed