so one of my gay new blogs has posted this advert that is apparently running in the UK. They're really happy about it all, saying that we should all rush to buy Pepsi products and how gay-friendly it is blah blah blah. But this is my blog so it's my opinion. This is a stupid and offensive advert. I don't care if you're all rolling your eyes. I don't really feel like getting into a debate about this. It objectifies women, but hey, it's so gay[MALE] friendly! Don't really appreciate the "hilarious" facial expressions on the friend's faces as the man goes over to the other man (and stands about three metres away from him, that's as close as two men are allowed to be on television!):
ON THE RIGHT: a "comic" level of disgust. ON THE LEFT: it's a expression of absolute shock.
This is called the "comedic gay reveal". It happens all of the time. Oh, isn't it fucking hilarious, as it turns out he's one of those homosexuals! I'm so shocked! It's HILARIOUS! And we ALL THOUGHT HE WASN'T, BECAUSE WHY WOULD HE BE? THAT'S NOT A NORMAL STATE FOR A HUMAN BEING, that's why we're laughing, that's why it's funny.
Oh and the whole idea that it takes a fucking soft drink to give you the courage to come out and be gay is incredibly offensive. That is what they're suggesting, judging by his friends' shocked reactions. Hey kids, finding coming out difficult? How about a Pepsi? YEAH! THAT HELPS.
The site that linked me to this have drafted a letter of thanks to pepsi for "finally representing the gay community". Sure, we're being represented, but we're the punchline. Again. We are being mocked and derided again. And just because some small slip of gay representation in an advert doesn't mean they can get away with having long lingering shots of breasts. Fucking bastards.
I'm just angry and probably won't feel like talking about this again as the anger will have passed.
I'm this angry already. Imagine how much more fired up I'll be after I've seen Milk. I should probably issue hard hats to everyone.

0 comments:
Post a Comment